top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

CONNECT WITH ME:

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

Sensory Oracle

Hello, soul friends!

Today's review is covering a deck that caught my attention as soon as I saw it in a Swap group. I couldn't find a lot of pictures or information online, so decided to risk it and buy the deck, as I figured it would be something fun and light. Plus, I love seeing other Indie decks, and checking them out!

I hope you enjoy my review and generous pictures!

Sensory Oracle

I purchased this deck from another card deck enthusiast who was cleaning her collection out (as I often do, as well). I thought they were an intriguing set and decided to go ahead and pick them up. The Sensory Oracle Deck focuses on stimulating the senses through vivid colors and a simple design. This deck was put out by Red Lotus Designz in collaboration with Modern Witchy Woman, who is Diana Chen.

About the author

From Diana Chin's website:

I'm a visual artist and writer. Aside from being the founder of Red Lotus Designz, I'm also a member of PeriGirls and a Brand Ambassador for MONQ.

Between the years 2015 through 2017, I created Modern Witchy Woman (originally Diamond Moonflower) in providing personal and spiritual growth divination readings. Eventually, I retired from my tarot reading services. At the moment, I'm focusing my time on designing and creating divination decks catered to gender, racial, and cultural diversity. I still blog about my tarot spreads, spells and other divination tips on my original website Red Lotus Designz. Also, I provide general card readings on my personal profiles, so be sure to follow me at the social links below!

I'm a wife and proud mama who is currently residing in Brooklyn, NY. My hobbies include books, programming, makeup, singing karaoke, writing, crafts, cooking, watching Asian dramas, telenovelas and anime while spending time with my family. I love connecting with those who share similar passions. ."

https://www.dianarchin.com/

My Personal Review

This 22-card deck is meant to be used as a colorful oracle that soothes with it's simple images, colorful scheme, and clean artwork. The first thing that really drew my into this deck was the color scheme. My tastes ranges and I love finding eclectic little decks to check out. So when I see these unique and funky little decks, I can't wait to get them into my little paws to fawn over.

The artwork is colorful and instinctual. This makes it a breeze to work with if you are someone who has been reading symbols. Symbolism is a strong thread in Tarot, so it helps if you are already accustomed to understanding certain symbols, or are familiar with having to deduct your own meaning from the symbols presented.

I could see this deck being a little cumbersome or difficult for those who aren't used to reading without much guidance. But if you aren't used to finding meaning in everything, luckily there is a booklet! It only has one sentence per card but it offers surprisingly profound information.

The cards have brief messages, allowing one to take just a minute to think about the messages and also trying to understand the overall theme of what you currently are facing. All in all I felt that this deck does promote and encourage a deeper connection to your intuition.

The card stock is good quality which is always a happy surprise in indie decks. The card stock is slightly matte (which is my preference) and allows you get a nice bend without cracking the card stock. They do bend easily and will hold the bend. For an Indie deck, I really enjoyed this card stock, as I was able to get great pictures in natural light.

The guidebook or booklet is included to help you further connect to the cards. It was a simple booklet that I felt would be good to just use as a basic guideline for the overall theme of the cards. It went unused for a lot of the time that I owned it, as I deduced my own meanings from the cards. I am not a fan of tuck boxes and since I purchased mine second hand, it was a beat up little thing that wouldn't close. So, I wasn't happy with the packaging for this deck.

It is a smaller deck, at only 22 cards, but it is easy to travel with and store away. Don't let the small amount of cards fool you. There is plenty to use here and value to be extracted as an affirmation deck, or indicator of where you need to focus attention. I thought at first I wouldn't care for the back design as they are not reversible or mirrored, but with most Oracle decks, they may not be created with the intentions of having reversed meanings.

I could see this deck being great for visualization and meditation. This may even be a great deck to get your feet wet in the Oracle card world. The pictures are simple, but represent deep ideas, but don't overload you with so much information that you get jumbled up on the messages.

All in all, this is a fun little deck that I think most people could pick up and have fun with.

My overall opinion is that this deck is a 3.5 star choice.

Artwork - 3.5 stars

Card stock - 3 stars

Ease - 4 stars

Guidebook - 1 star

I hope that you enjoyed my deck review, and also enjoy other deck reviews that I add to this site. I have a passion for exploring new decks and also finding various ways of connecting to my intuition. I appreciate you checking out my site and taking the time to read my review.

Happy Reading!

Tags:

bottom of page